Caption: The 2017 Puerto Escondido Challenge will see the world’s best big wave surfers compete LIVE today starting at 7:05 AM CST (5 AM PST / 9 AM BRT / 1 PM GMT).
Credit: © WSL / Heff

Location:     Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Event window:     May 1 – August 31, 2017
Today’s call:     Green Alert – Competition called ON for 7:05 AM CST start today
Conditions:         20 – 25′ wave faces

CLICK HERE FOR HI-RES PRESS IMAGES: https://wdrv.it/8c9cb4a3b
***Photos will be uploaded to this link throughout the day*** The rights to any audio/visual content attached or accessed by link within this email are provided strictly on the terms and conditions described under the “License Terms” below.

PUERTO ESCONDIDO, Mexico (Monday, July 31, 2017) – Today, the World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour (BWT) Puerto Escondido Challenge has been called ON starting at 7:05 a.m. CST (5 AM PST / 9 AM BRT / 1 PM GMT). The infamous big wave break of Mainland Mexico’s Puerto Escondido will produce 20-25 foot wave faces to challenge the world’s best surfers big wave surfers in the first Big Wave Tour event of the season.

“We are ON for a 7:05 a.m. start with Round 1,” said Mike Parsons, WSL Big Wave Tour Commissioner. “We are seeing great conditions out there right now to set us up for an exciting day of competition. The winds are offshore and there is solid size that is expected to build throughout the day. Best of luck to all of our competitors.”

Today’s Puerto Escondido Challenge will witness 24 men battle the elements for the first Big Wave Tour win of the season. Only the top three finishers will advance out of each heat of Round 1. From there, the competitors will advance to the Semifinals, where the top three competitors from each Semifinal heat will get an opportunity to surf in the Final.

The event will be broadcast LIVE via WorldSurfLeague.com, the WSL app and on Facebook Live via the WSL’s Facebook page. Also check the local listings for coverage on CBS Sports Network in the U.S., Fox Sports in Australia, ESPN in Brazil, Sky NZ in New Zealand, SFR Sports in France and Portugal and as part of the EDGEsport Network.

2017 BWT Puerto Escondido Challenge Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Grant Baker (ZAF), Billy Kemper (HAW), Cristian Merello (CHL), Trevor Carlson (HAW), Nathan Florence (HAW), Angelo Lozano (MEX)
Heat 2: Alex Botelho (PRT), Will Skudin (USA), Makuakai Rothman (HAW), Peter Mel (USA), Jimel Corzo (MEX), Coco Nogales (MEX)
Heat 3: Pedro Calado (BRA), Nic Lamb (USA), Kai Lenny (HAW), Tom Lowe (GBR), Rusty Long (USA), Jose Ramirez (MEX)
Heat 4: Jamie Mitchell (AUS), João de Macedo (PRT), Francisco Porcella (ITA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Rogercin Ramirez (MEX), Oscar Moncado (MEX)

The rights to any Content attached or accessed by link within this email are granted by the Association of Surfing Professionals LLC (“World Surf League”) to you (the email recipient) and any entity you represent pursuant to the terms and conditions below (“Content License”). By opening or accessing the Content, you accept the terms of this Content License. The rights to the Content (or any part of it) are royalty-free and granted for editorial use or news service use only and this Content License will expire two (2) weeks from the date of this email. No rights for sale or for commercial use or modification of the Content are granted in any way, including any right to associate the Content or any subject or brand with a commercial brand or message. Rights to individuals within the Content are not provided. Where the Content is used in any way on digital platforms, a link to www.worldsurfleague.com must exist where the Content is visible. Where the Content is used in any way on social media, a link to @wsl must exist where the Content is visible.

The Content is provided, on an “as is” basis and no warranty is provided for its use by you. World Surf League owns all rights, including copyright to the Content. ALL RIGHTS NOT SPECIFICALLY PROVIDED ABOVE ARE RESERVED BY WORLD SURF LEAGUE.

About the World Surf League
The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Grant Baker, Phil Rajzman, Tory Gilkerson, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com

Amy Denman
Senior Communications Manager [email protected]
+1 310-570-8821
Chloe Kojima
Communications Manager [email protected]
+1 310-386-9181

(c) Towsurfer.com 2017