Posted 9-22-17

Magicseaweed News

Nazare is best known for its fizzing mountains of heavy water, renowned as a spectacle like no other when those buoys spark up.

Yet, when the numbers are more in the challengeable range for mere mortals, the inside of Nazare is a bonafide feast of barrels. And it is here that, for the past five years, the Perfect Chapter competition has been running – a one-day event where some of the world’s best barrel riders scrape into throaty cylinders at Praia do Norte.

The holding period for this year’s event is about to open on September 23 and run through to November 23 – and you get to decide who competes. Go HERE to vote.

The six international surfers with the most votes by the end of the voting period, d the six Portuguese surfers will be the ones with a shot at the title.

“The 16 men are being called on to compete on the best date of the waiting period (offering the best barreling conditions). The forecast is being closely monitored by the event’s organization in association with magicseaweed. Surfers are notified of the event status within a 72 hours’ notice.”

© 2017 – Vasco Lazaro

Voting is live right now and will go on until Friday. The list of candidates are; Alex Gray, Anthony Walsh, Balaram Stack, Bruno Santos, Cory Lopez, Dylan Graves, Koa Rothman, Kiron Jabour, Lucas Chianca “Chumbo”, Mikala Jones, Nathan Florence, Pedro Vianna “Scooby”, And, from Portugal; Alex Botelho, António Silva, Elohe Alvarez, Filipe Jervis, Ivo Cação, João Guedes, Marlon Lipke, Miguel Blanco, Nic von Rupp, Pedro Boonman, Ruben Gonzalez and Tiago Pires.

Wildcards so far are Aritz Aranburu (last year’s winner), Bruno Grilo (local wildcard). One international and one Portuguese surfer will be given the remaining wildcards into the event.

Towsurfer Swag

(C) 2017